Mother’s Day

When I think of Mother’s Day, I think of my mom. Yes, I am a mom of three as well, but I’m not the mom who first comes to mind when Mother’s Day rolls around.

I had a great mom. She was tough, hard, and more strict than you could probably imagine. When I was younger, I couldn’t understand why I was never allowed to do ANYTHING. There were rules, expectations, and chores. I swore that when I had kids I wasn’t going to be that mom.

But then I grew up. I had kids of my own, and I realized that all of the things I didn’t like as a child were the very things I intended to do as a mom…because they were the very things that made me the person I am today. She was tough, but she made me strong. She had strict rules, but I learned respect. She had high expectations, but they helped me become successful.

My mom and I have had our share of ups and downs; we don’t always agree, and we often don’t see eye to eye. But one thing is true…my mom always did what she thought was right. She dedicated her life to raising me, and a person can’t ask for more than that. Most of all, she showed me how to be a good mother myself, and for that, I’m grateful.

Let your mom know how much you appreciate her this Mother’s Day weekend. As I now know myself, this mom thing is a pretty tough job.

IMG_1404

 

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

