Hello Vancouver!

on

Last year when I began writing Investigating the Heart, all I knew was that I wanted to write a book. It had always been a goal of mine, and I figured there was no time like the present. Throughout the writing process, I discovered a lot about myself, both good and bad. When I received a publishing contract, I was excited, but I had no idea just how much my life was about to change. You see, for an author, writing the book is the easy part. What comes after it is much more difficult. Since September, when Investigating the Heart was released, I have had my security blanket ripped off of me in more ways than I thought possible. I’ve done newspaper interviews, book signings, author talks, appearances, and even a television spot. All of these things have been miles out of my comfort zone. I’ve always had a fear of being in front of people; of being the center of attention. This fear caused me to back away from singing, which has always been one of my great loves. Being terrified of standing in the spotlight is why I write. What I didn’t realize is that these public appearances are a necessary and vital part of being an author; if you don’t promote your writing, no one knows it exists.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m certainly not complaining. I am both honored and humbled that there is interest in my writing, and I realize that my books can’t exist without people reading my words; and no one will read my words if I don’t promote them. I guess what I’m saying is that I’ve come to the conclusion that life has a way of pushing us out of our safe zone into the very place that we fear. We can either choose to take the leap and embrace it, or run for our lives. I choose to look my fear in the eye and say that it will no longer get the better of me. Yes, I will still be afraid; but I’ll push through the fear, knowing what awaits on the other side of it. With every ounce of my being, I urge you to do the same. I’ve come to realize that the best things in life happen right in the middle of the things that we fear the most.

So, come out tonight and see me at Hello Vancouver! Yes, I’m terrified, but I’m also excited and happy that folks are going to take time out of their busy lives to come and learn more about me and my books.

image

Leave a Reply

