Accomplishment

thZC40Z021

As I sit here today, I am a bundle of emotions. Tears are literally streaming down my face. You see, last night I finished the first draft of my novel. When I began this journey, a mere three months ago, I had big doubts as to whether or not I would be able to finish it. I know a lot of people who have started a novel, only to get stuck somewhere in the middle and never finish. I am a writer, and I have written many things in the course of my life, but never a whole book. I knew I could start, and I knew I could continue…but could I finish?

There were days that I wouldn’t write at all because, quite honestly, I was afraid of finishing. It’s exciting to say, “I’m writing a book”, but what do you do once the book is done?  Could I do anything with it? Would I be able to get it published? Would it be just another huge file taking up space on my computer? These thoughts plagued me while I was writing. Self-doubt whispered a great many things in my ear. I know now not to listen when self-doubt comes to call.

Last night, I accomplished a goal that I have had since I was a very young child…I wrote a book. No, it isn’t actually complete yet, for there will be edits, proofreading, embellishments, and revisions. However, the bones of my book are complete. I took my story and told it, from start to finish.

I know that this is just the beginning. The book will certainly need more work before I feel like it is ready to send out to some (hopeful) publishers. But, let me say just how accomplished I felt last night when I wrote the final word. There are many goals in my life that I have had and never accomplished. There are many things I thought I would be when I “grew up” that I never became. Last night, I became something that my childhood self always wanted to become…I became an author.

10 thoughts on “Accomplishment

  1. Tammy says:

    There was never any doubt that you would finish this book. You write beautifully and are passionate. I pray God will open the right door for you to be published. You are amazing and I admire you☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jaderayne02 says:

    Well, Marianne, I have a bit of a patience problem. 😉 I have a terrible time leaving things “undone”, so four months seemed like a long time to me! In this particular case, my lack of patience worked to my benefit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

