A Glimpse Into My World…Proceed With Caution

thS3UXYMWU

When I set out to write a book, I received some advice from a book publisher. He said that my image and brand would be almost as important as my book. I thought it was ridiculous at first, but the more I looked at other author’s websites, the more I believed it might just be true. I was not a lover of social media. In fact, I wasn’t on any social media sites at all, except for LinkedIn. Deciding that I needed to publicize myself and my work, I set out to create a plethora of social media sites. I am now the social media queen, and I am on every site that I am aware of. I have yet to decide if this is productive, or just another means to distract my writer’s brain. The jury is still out on that.

I also set up this page as my author blog. It contains a lot of poetry, as well as my thoughts on my novel writing process. I thought that it might also be fun to let you, my readers, know a little more about me as well. This goes beyond the “About Me” section on my blog. These are the things that you don’t put on an author bio page. They are just some fun and quirky, little-known things about me.

  1. First and foremost, I am terrified of mice. I don’t mean that I don’t like them…I mean it is probably a borderline full-blown phobia. I have nightmares of mice. If I see a mouse, I completely and utterly lose my mind. I have been known to scream loudly, (blood-curdling screams), cry hysterically, and jump onto the tallest piece of furniture available. My children think I may be mentally unbalanced.
  2. I hate beets with a passion. Even the thought of beets is enough to make my stomach turn and set my gag reflexes into motion. (I’m gagging right now)
  3. I used to be a mermaid. At least that is what I told my children when they were young. They were constantly searching for my tail. I have woven many a story about my life in the wild, blue oceans. Although they no longer believe my stories, I am not fully convinced that mermaids don’t exist.
  4. I went to Ohio State solo vocal competitions in high school, where I received “Superior” ratings. I had big dreams of being on Broadway, and I have found myself the wedding singer at many weddings.
  5. I am an obsessive/compulsive floor sweeper. It is really a problem. I am constantly sweeping my floors. I cannot stand things to be on them.
  6. I was always told that our family’s heritage was mostly German, but I didn’t believe it. I never “felt” German. I “felt” like I was of Celtic descent. Turns out, my feeling was right, based upon the DNA ethnicity test I took. Yes, I am a genealogy nerd.
  7. I cannot sleep at night with the closet door open. Maybe it’s the storyteller in me, but I imagine hundreds of scenarios where “something” is waiting in there for me. I’m not sure what good closing the door will do, because I’m sure the “something’ could open it if they wanted me badly enough. Nevertheless, the closet door needs to be closed before I can sleep.
  8. I had an imaginary friend named Dakin when I was a little girl. She told me that riding a bike wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. Based upon her knowledge, I finally learned to ride a bike when I was about 10 years old. Dakin lied…it was terrifying!
  9. I can’t stand my house to be messy, so it always looks neat. However, please, please, please, do NOT open my drawers or closets! You have been warned.
  10. I hate hot weather. I don’t like the sun. I basically try to avoid the outside as much as possible in the summertime. Perhaps I’m actually a vampire!
  11. My mother used to ground me from reading. She said it was the only punishment that I cared about. She was right.
  12. I CANNOT eat ice cream after anyone else (including my husband or kids). If they want to try it…I just give it to them. Not sure why this is only specifically a problem with ice cream, but it’s a fact.
  13. Until recently, I had never ridden in a taxi. I have yet to ride a city bus. Yes, these are strange things to have on the bucket list of a woman my age.
  14. Other than briefly crossing the border into Canada, I have never been out of the United States. This is something I hope to remedy soon. I have many European vacations planned out in great detail in my mind.
  15. I have never been to Disneyland. In Ohio, this was not a big deal, as a lot of people have never been to Disneyland. On the West Coast, this is an anomaly. People look at me as if I have said that I’ve never eaten pizza.
  16. I am afraid of dogs. Cats freak me out a little bit. Birds terrify me.  Animals in general make me nervous. I never quite know what they’re thinking, and I am sure they are constantly plotting my demise.
  17. Right after I graduated from high school I got a job in a library as a page. The page is the person who re-shelves the books after they are returned. I was “talked to” many times because I would stand in the aisle and read the books instead of putting them back on the shelf.
  18. My grandma has many embarrassing home videos of me singing and making up dances to my favorite songs when I was a teenager. If I ever become famous, I hope they don’t resurface.
  19. I am a strange balance of laziness and productivity. I hate to be rushed or have a strict schedule, but once I get started on a task, I work like a machine until it is finished.
  20. I am a super, hyper, over-the-top paranoid and protective parent. It drives my kids crazy. Sometimes it drives me a little crazy, too. It’s something I’m working on!

 So, basically, that’s me in a nutshell. I am a strange mix of things, and I’m far from perfect, but somehow the wacky combinations work for me. Now, you all know more about me than you probably ever wanted to. I hope you enjoyed a glimpse into the mind of a writer. It’s a jumbled mess of thoughts and quirks, which is probably why I’m able to weave a good story!

5 thoughts on “A Glimpse Into My World…Proceed With Caution

    • Barbara Westhafer. says:

      Way to go Cameron! She done a good job tell about herself. I’m afraid she won’t know Grandma when she gets famaces! Just kiding. Love you all!

      Like

Leave a Reply

