Big Task…

red-fingerprint-heart-shape-magnifying-glass-39047309I was working on my novel a couple of weeks ago, when I had an epiphany. I decided that it would flow more naturally if it were written in the first-person perspective. I went back to the first chapter, and began to read through it in my mind, testing out what it would sound like in the first-person. Now, I liked my work before (obviously, right?) but changing the perspective of the storyteller was exactly what my book needed.

Upon this discovery, I realized that I was going to have to go back and change the 25,000 words I had already written. I was so certain that the change needed to be made, though, that I set out to undertake the task. I am happy to say that I have finished the editing, and I love it. I am now ready to continue the story of Investigating the Heart…

5 thoughts on “Big Task…

  1. brittneysahin says:

    I have contemplated using first POV- but worry about needing my character in every scene (my next post is about POV- looking for others opinions). sounds like it is working for you– what is your genre?

    Like

  2. FabricatingFiction says:

    Good for you for making a big change. I wrote in 1st person past tense and then realised it would be better in present tense. I now have 85,000 words to change but I think it will be worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

