Three Wishes

th1KLXJ0DH

Awhile back, I wrote a children’s short story. I wasn’t quite sure what I would do with it, but I had an idea and followed it through. I recently decided it might make a great picture book. It’s not long, but is whimsical and entertaining, and the right length for a short book.  I decided to re-work it a bit, and I recently submitted it to several publishers of children’s books.

Quite certain that my queries would receive no response (as this is the case with most unsolicited manuscripts) I sent it out anyway, for practice. I waited a couple of weeks and received no replies. I wasn’t really surprised, as the odds of enticing a publishing company are about the same as winning the lottery.

This morning, I received an email stating that a particular publishing company was sending my story on to the board of editors for further inspection. I felt a moment of accomplishment. I know that the likelihood of it actually being accepted and being offered a publishing deal is slim. It boosted my confidence, though, to see something finally make it to the next step, and not simply find its way into the junk mail file.

The book is about a little girl who meets a fairy who offers her three wishes. I’m going to sprinkle some fairy dust and hope that my wish comes true!

2 thoughts on “Three Wishes

Leave a Reply

