Beginning

on

th6YR43RDI

I have wanted to write a book for as long as I can remember. It has always been a goal of mine, but I have only recently started putting these thoughts into action.

A few months ago, I got a story idea for my novel. I spent some time crafting the characters, setting, and plot. After researching the novel writing process, I took the advice of creating a story plot summary, and took it even further and did a chapter by chapter outline. This type of organization goes against my normal writing style of waiting for inspiration, but I decided to take the idea and run with it.

I began writing the prologue of my novel, and it immediately took off. I found that I put down the first 5000 words in a matter of a couple of hours. Not knowing exactly what I was doing, I researched the average word count of an adult novel, and found that 90,000 words is average. Suddenly, my quick 5000 words didn’t seem so impressive.

Anyone who knows me well knows that patience is not a virtue which I possess. I quickly warned the voices inside of my head that this novel writing process was not going to be quick, and that I should enjoy the journey.

I am so excited to be able to share this journey with you. I am hopeful that sharing the process with my readers will garner support and interest in my novel even before completion and publication. I am happy to have you along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

